5th World Bread Day 2010 – Banana Bread

Banana Bread recipe, specially for 5th World Bread Day 2010 – from Kochtopf!

(…)

This is one of my favorite recipes. Never fails and became a major success in the office, within my Head-Quarter, for Bobcat’s joy and delight…

The original recipe is from a very dear virtual friend – had never met, but I like her so much that she even takes place on many dreams (yeah, those dreams someone has when sleeps)… my admiration is such thing that I even remembered her birthday, few days ago (and don’t think I had taken note of that or that she had made a huge post about it, the reminder of her personal New Year’s Day just came to my mind like that plin!!!)

So, this recipe is dedicated to Fer Guimaraes Rosa from Chucrute com Salsicha

Banana Bread – from here – original recipe in portuguese… english version only here, at my online kitchen, babe😉 and the red notes are my personal changes =D

Ingredients

1/2 cup of unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup of sugar – I use organic sugar
2 large happy eggs – I mean, free range happy chicken
1 cup of mashed ripe banana – sometimes I do use 2 cups of Musa paradisiaca
1/4 cup of whole milk – I didn’t mean this is a light recipe, right?
1 cup of plain yogurt
1/2 tablespoon of ground cinnamon
2 cups of all-purpose flour – organic too
1 teaspoon of pure vanilla extract – if it’s homemade, even better but please, run away from artificial vanilla from regular markets
1 teaspoon of baking soda
1/2 cup of brazilian nuts chopped – I quite often use walnuts

How to make:

Preheat the oven 375ºF / 180ºC. Grease and flour a 28x11x6cm loaf pan (this are the dimensions of my loaf pan).

In a medium bowl, cream butter and sugar until gets light and fluffy (you can use a eletric mixer. In my case, I’m the mixer!). Add the eggs, one at a time, beating to incorporate. Sift the flour and cinnamon all over the creamed butter, now mixing with a wooden spoon. On a separeted bowl, mix in the banana, yogurt, vanilla and milk until combined, but be careful in order to not overmixing them. Add this mixture to the creamed batter from before, with smooth movements. Finally add the nuts and the baking soda and mix kindly.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 1 hour or until the bread is golden cooked or when tested with a wooden stick. Leave to cool in the pan for 5 minutes before turning out onto a wire rack to cool.  Slice and enjoy it with fresh coffee… 

Happy Baking!!!

5 pensamentos sobre “5th World Bread Day 2010 – Banana Bread

  1. Jux
    That bread looks so scrumptious!
    Banana bread is one of my all time favorite sweet bread. I often use sour cream in it but yogurt sound great. I am going to try that recipe when my banana sisters gets too old to stand alone on the stage.
    I am very happy for your return to your home in northern sea soon. When will it be?

    • hi Darling!!!
      Welcome to the kitchen!
      So… I’ll spread my wings back home in December, most precisely middle December I’ll be locked in the arms from the very special that I miss so much! And once I get there, there will be many cooking and knitting posts here – my deepest inspiration lives there 🙂
      I’m so glad that you liked the recipe! Banana bread is by far one of my favorite baking goods! I’ll be very happy to see you making this recipe come true on your nice kitchen, with your magic hands!!! Even though the recipe is not mine, I have a special love for this wonderful banana and nuts combination!
      Why don’t you make a post for World Bread Day too???

      Gigantic hug my sweet friend!

    • hi darling!
      It’s a great and easy recipe! I’m not much in to giving-advices but I’d suggest you to try it! Just imagine: winter is knocking on Northern Skies, a nice banana loaf in the oven, the scent of cinnamon surrounding home… with fresh coffee and good companion, few things in life can be better! Willkommen!

Deixe uma resposta

